Create an Account
Login to bookmark vendors!
Billingsley House Museum is a brick Tidewater Colonial plantation house that sits on 430 acres overlooking the confluence of the Patuxent River and the Western Branch. Large brick tented patio, dressing rooms, living and dining room, small upper deck with panoramic water view.
The house and land were named for Major John Billingsley the original 1662 land grant owner. Even though Major Billingsley never lived on the property and there have been 27 title adjustments over the site’s long history” the name “”Billingsley”” remains. The present house was built around 1740 by the prominent Weems family on” or very near the site of an older 1695 house built by Colonel Thomas Hollyday first Chief Justice of the Prince George’s County Court.
Billingsley has been substantially altered and modernized both in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries yet it is still one of the oldest structures remaining in the County and a unique example of a plantation house. As such it is of great historical and architectural importance. Billingsley which features rooms furnished in period decor is ideal for both large and intimate gatherings including business meetings.